Ten Days, and a trip to Middle-Earth, Later…

It’s been ten days since I finished writing the first (vomit) draft of my manuscript, Temporary, and in that time I have successfully managed to distant myself momentarily from the project, choosing instead to immerse myself once more into Middle-Earth, thanks to the amazingly entertaining, and engrossing, Shadows of Mordor – a surprise gift I received a few days prior to finishing my book, courtesy of my girlfriend.

I’ve found the distancing of the project important as, when I return to it later on this week in order to begin redrafting and restructuring it, I wanted to be able to look at it objectively, rather than putting myself in a position, so close to the story, where I could not see the woods for the trees.

Distance from a story, let alone one that means so much to its author, coupled with the time in which it took to turn into a firmer reality, isn’t just a practical idea – it’s an imperative one. Without the ability to step away, the risk of simply getting lost, spiralling into confusion and, ultimately, a hate and/or loathing of your own material becomes a genuine issue. So, instead, I decided to treat myself and take a holiday back to Middle-Earth, with everyday activities consisting of hunting Graugs, unravelling a mysterious story and, of course, killing some fucking orcs!

As with all good things though, holidays come to an end, and now that my journey carving up Sauron’s army has finished, it means that it’s time to once more return to the world I have crafted and begin the process of discovering just how terrible a writer I actually am. Writing is rewriting, after all, even if you have to do it thanks to a damaged, hyper extended, near broken, thumb. Thanks, BJJ.

In the interim though, I have given more thought into the short story I want to draft within its universe; exploring who it would follow, how it would cross, if at all, with Temporary, and what its main motifs are. I’m excited to start work on it as I redraft my manuscript, and look forward to releasing as soon as it’s ready to be let loose unto the world.

Until then, however, it’s a heady diet of caffeine (coffee or energy drinks, I’m not prejudiced), attempted video blogs for WriteSteveWrite, and long days and nights of rewriting and, importantly, rethinking, thanks to my own observations and, most importantly, the constructive, critical, thoughts and opinions of the chosen few I have sent it out to.

To them, I salute you – you are instrumental in the future of this novels story and, hopefully, successful future.

– – –

If you’re interested in knowing more about Temporary and its Superhero concepts, don’t hesitate to get in contact or comment below. I’m going to be attempting a vlog for WriteSteveWrite shortly as well, in an effort to communicate on a visual level about the novel and perhaps any questions people may have for me.

Leave a Reply

