When It Rains, It Pours

It’s the final day of my detox and, as usual, it featured a number of highs and lows. The lows consisting of a non stop pounding headache, and hiding under the duvets for a half hour in the vain hope that it would subside; the highs being how much lighter I feel (and weigh – which is 10 pounds lighter, incidentally) and that I finally, FINALLY, feel cleared of all the excess I was carrying around from the Christmas period.

Seven days is the shortest cleanse I’ve ever committed to, with my usual countdown consisting of ten. The longest I have ever attempted, and will never attempt again incidentally, is fourteen.

The fourteen was way too long, and I have fond memories of counting down the seconds of the last day, much in the way that I am now. I can’t lie, for all the good the cleanse does for me (coupled with my BJJ) I can’t wait for that first meal tomorrow. Time today seems to be slowing down purposefully in order to stretch the goal posts that bit further away, but it’s only a matter of time, and I’m dedicated to the cause. Plus I’m one stubborn S.O.B.

I’ve used the time during my juicing cleanse to look into what steps I can now take with my finished manuscript, Temporary. How, pray tell, can you take it from a shit load of words on a screen, to being pound, published, and available in all good book stores near you? The ‘what next’ of the situation has always been one that has confounded me. From my short film, First Date, to my first feature length script, Gamers, it’s always the next step. What next?

Well, I’m determined to make something happen with Temporary. I believe in Temporary, and I believe that there is a message within it that will resonate with an audience once it has the ability to do so. So…what next?

Since finishing the book I spent a few weeks away from the project, in order to try and create some distance. I wanted to redraft it as though I were discovering it for the first time. The redraft was successful, with elements being added and chunks being taken out, and I’m happy with the result of what my hard work has to show. But it’s not professionally done, and, confident though I am in my own abilities, I would be foolhardy to assume that it was now in a condition to simply mail off to literary agents or publishing houses. No. What it needs now is to go through the process of editing and proof reading from those in the know, from those who make it their business to ensure that my book becomes the best possible version of itself that it can be.

With this in mind, I trawled the internet for companies that might be a) suitable and b) affordable. I found a company called BubbleCow, and have extended a query e-mail for a quote to see what kind of damage I’m going to be looking at. Given the recent car troubles I’ve been having (the front suspension of my ’08 Ford Fiesta decided to snap on me, leaving me £400+ lighter) I’m loathe to put off the necessary edits, especially given the 28 day turn around time that BubbleCow quotes, but life is what it is, and I can only hope that I can mark this up as a story to one day tell, regaling people with the adversity of being a struggling writer, struggling for money just to get the damn thing edited, let alone eventually looked at, whilst his car breaks down, needs new insurance AND renewed break down cover, doesn’t make for an easy ride, financially.

Also, my boiler.

Did I mention that? Yeah, that decided to malfunction too, rendering my flat more akin to an igloo in these early months.

When it rains, it pours, I suppose.

On a lighter note to end on: In the time that its taken me to get to develop a plan of attack for Temporary, one of my favourite indy wrestlers has debuted within the WWE. For those not in the know, I am, and have been since childhood, a pro wrestling fan, and because of this I eagerly anticipated Kevin Steen’s eventual arrival within the WWE.

His debut would also give me sufficient excuse to finally start watching NXT, slotting that into my weekly wrestling fix, along with the WWE product, ROH, Lucha Underground  and any old WWF/ECW/WCW PPV’s I may have been revisiting on the WWE Network (available for only $9.99).

I had been aware of his character name being changed by the WWE creative machine from Steen to Owens, but it wasn’t until he debuted, sporting his new t-shirt, that I couldn’t help but laugh to myself and the coincidence of his new name, something I hadn’t seen until it was on my screen:

Kevin Owens.

KO.

Just like the chosen Super moniker of my lovably short fused, wise cracking, main character in Temporary, Kenny Orton.

Make of that what you will, but I thought it was pretty funny in an awesome kind of way.


What did you think of the Kevin Owens debut? Have you ever juiced, and what was your result? Additionally: have you had experience with BubbleCow at all; I would love to hear about your experience with them, if you have.

Feel free to comment below and let me know!

3 thoughts on “When It Rains, It Pours

  1. Pingback: That’s it, Call It. 4:29PM. | Write Steve Write

  2. Pingback: Call Him The Shadow… | Write Steve Write

  3. Pingback: It’s About Time (And Space) | Write Steve Write

Leave a Reply

